Skip to main content
arrow-left Back

60 players selected for Junior Crusaders Camp

60 schoolboy rugby players are set to assemble in Christchurch next month for the 2021 edition of the Junior Crusaders Camp, and the club has today announced those players selected to take part. In total, 11 secondary schools within the Crusaders region will be represented.


The squad will be led by Crusaders Forwards Coach, Jason Ryan, who said it is a privilege to be able to connect with emerging talent and provide them with an opportunity to grow within the Crusaders environment. 


“I’m extremely honoured to be Head Coach of the Junior Crusaders and really looking forward to connecting with these young men and working with the entire management group during this exciting and unique week we have lined up,” Ryan said. 


“The Academy program, led by Aaron Webb, continues to be world leading and I’ve always been extremely passionate about keeping a close eye on who the next Crusaders will be. Leading this program will give me an even better opportunity to do this.”


Planning for the camp, which runs from Monday 11th-Wednesday 13th October, is well underway and this year promises to provide attendees with a comprehensive rugby experience. Players will not only gain key insights into a high performance environment  - including goal setting, nutrition, fitness and mental skills - but, more specially, they’ll learn what it means to be a Crusader, with a focus on connection and enjoyment. 


“The Crusaders pride themselves on setting young men up to succeed and this camp will focus purely on this. We have got an exciting theme ready to go that will be engaging and enjoyable for this group,” Ryan said. 


“In addition to this, we have a quality coaching group that are all experts in their own right and love rugby. They’ve had great success in the teams they have been involved in and I can’t wait to work with them all.”


Ryan will be joined in the coaching group by Canterbury B and Christchurch Boys’ High School Head Coach Andy Gibson, as well as former Crusader and St Thomas of Canterbury College Head Coach, Johnny Leo’o. 


Former Glasgow Warriors hooker and current Kaiapoi Division One Head Coach Simon Gunn will be in charge of set piece, while Tasman Under 19 Head Coach Matt MacDougall will cover skills. Jake Mangin completes the coaching group, with the former Head Coach of the Brazil national team and current Sumner Division One Head Coach involved as an Assistant Coach - Attack.


As well as a talented coaching and management group, the camp will be supported with special appearances from a number of key figures within the Crusaders organisation, and former Crusaders will share their unique insights and experiences. Current Crusaders will also be involved throughout the week, including Tom Christie, Mitch Dunshea, Jack Goodhue and Cullen Grace.


At the conclusion of the camp, a 26-strong squad will be named to play the Highlanders Under 18 side on Friday 15th October in Timaru.


The 2021 Junior Crusaders coaching group is as follows:

Head Coach – Jason Ryan

Lead Coach (Attack) - Andy Gibson

Lead Coach (Defence) - Johnny Leo’o

Set Piece Coach – Simon Gunn 

Skills Coach – Matt MacDougall

Assistant Coach (Attack) - Jake Mangin

The players selected for the 2021 Junior Crusaders Camp are:

Angus Hammett (Christ’s College)

Bede Fisher (Timaru Boys’ High School)

Ben Bartlett (Timaru Boys’ High School)

Ben Lefale (Nelson College)

Ben O’Donovan (St Bede’s College)

Cam Rawlings (St Bede’s College)

Cody Lokotui (Scots College)

Cooper Roberts (Marlborough Boys’ College)

Cullen Gray (Auckland Grammar School)

Deijdre Siaki (Shirley Boys’ High School)

Dylan Irvine (Nelson College)

Emmanuel Fruean (Shirley Boys’ High School)

Fletcher Joyce (Timaru Boys’ High School)

Hendrix Taylor (Christ’s College)

Hugh Cameron (Timaru Boys’ High School)

Hunter Leppien (Nelson College)

Isaac Hutchinson (St Bede’s College)

Jack Belcher (Christ’s College)

Jack Coulthard (St Thomas of Canterbury College)

Jack Jones (Christ’s College)

Jackson Meecham (Christchurch Boys’ High School)

Jackson Wright (St Bede’s College)

Jacob Neha-Manihera (Nelson College)

Jade Stewart (St Kentigern’s College)

Jake Pacey (Marlborough Boys’ College)

James White (Christchurch Boys’ High School)

Jayden Sa (Christ’s College)

Johnny Lee (Christ’s College)

Liam Jack (Christ’s College)

D’angelo (Lino) Tauti (St Andrew’s College)

Lucas Mullings (Timaru Boys’ High School)

Manumaua Letiu (Christchurch Boys’ High School)

Maeva Robati (Rangiora High School)

Mason Allison (St Bede’s College)

Netani Baleisomosomo (Nelson College)

Nicholas Sauira (Nelson College)

Nick Shearer (Christ’s College)

Noah Saukuru (Christchurch Boys’ High School)

Oliver Inch (Nelson College)

Reece Henderson (Lincoln University Rugby Club)

Regan Jones (Christchurch Boys’ High School)

Richie Tupuailei (St. Thomas of Canterbury College)

Riley Brewis (Christchurch Boys’ High School)

Sean Rutherford-Bradford (Christ’s College)

Suliasi Faiva (St Bede’s College)

Tahlor Cahill (Hamilton Boys’ High School)

Tai Pangai (Timaru Boys’ High School)

Tevita Faitotonu (St Thomas of Canterbury College)

Timoci Sauira (Nelson College)

Tommy Hamilton (Selwyn Combined Schools)

Torian Barnes (St. Andrew’s College)

Vaingalo Fine (St Thomas of Canterbury College)

Wil Thornalley (Nelson College)

Will Mackenzie (Marlborough Boys’ College)

Will Stodart (St. Andrew’s College)



Wider Training Group:

Campbell Allison (St Bede’s College)

Joshua Dunlea (Rakaia Rugby Football Club)

Anton Marshall (Christ’s College)

Callum Summerfield (Christ’s College)

Maretino Kaloudau (St Thomas of Canterbury College)



Unavailable for selection:

Tanner Stowers-Smith (St Bede’s College)