Skip to main content
arrow-left Back

Crusaders side named to face the Chiefs in first game back at Orangetheory Stadium

The Crusaders will return to Orangetheory Stadium for the first time in 2022, when they host the Chiefs on Saturday night in Round 4 of DHL Super Rugby Pacific.

10 All Blacks will line up in the starting side this week, with the match to be played in front of an exclusive number of Crusaders Season Members and commercial partners under the red traffic light settings in Christchurch.

Head Coach Scott Robertson has restored several All Blacks to the tight five for what promises to be a tough battle up front, including Joe Moody, Vice-Captain Codie Taylor, regular Captain Scott Barrett and Sam Whitelock. 22-year-old Fletcher Newell has again been given the nod to start at tighhead prop, with Oli Jager still unavailable due to the calf complaint which saw him withdrawn from last week's match against Moana Pasifika. The starting loose forward trio of Ethan Blackadder, Tom Christie and Pablo Matera remains unchanged. 

The backline is all-new to face the Chiefs, with Bryn Hall and Richie Mo'unga both moving to the starting side and Leicester Fainga'anuku returning to the left wing, after sitting out last Friday's match with a chest injury. Vice-Captain David Havili edges closer to becoming a Super Rugby centurion when he lines up in the midfield for his 99th Crusaders game, alongside Braydon Ennor. Sevu Reece and in-form fullback Will Jordan complete the starting lineup. 


"While we'd love to be playing in front of a full house, given the current environment we're just grateful for the chance to welcome some of our loyal Members back to Orangetheory Stadium and give them an opportunity to watch some live rugby for the first time this year," Robertson said.

"The intensity of a contest with the Chiefs is always going to be high and these are the type of games we relish as coaches. They're a tough, physical, well-coached side, and we’re going to have to perform right across the park."

Kick off in the Crusaders match against the Chiefs is 7:05pm, Saturday 12th March at Orangetheory Stadium in Christchurch. The match will be televised live on Sky Sport. 

Crusaders team to play the Chiefs:

1.   Joe Moody
2.   Codie Taylor (VC)
3.   Fletcher Newell
4.   Scott Barrett (C)
5.   Sam Whitelock
6.   Ethan Blackadder
7.   Tom Christie
8.   Pablo Matera
9.   Bryn Hall
10. Richie Mo'unga
11. Leicester Fainga'anuku
12. David Havili (VC)
13. Braydon Ennor
14. Sevu Reece
15. Will Jordan

16. Brodie McAlister
17. George Bower
18. Tamaiti Williams
19. Mitch Dunshea
20. Cullen Grace
21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi
22. Fergus Burke
23. George Bridge