Skip to main content
arrow-left Back

Crusaders team named to play the Blues in Good Friday blockbuster

The Crusaders team has been named for the New Zealand-club top of the table clash against the Blues at Orangetheory Stadium on Friday night in Christchurch. Both the Crusaders and Blues sit on 27 competition points after seven games played, with only the Australian-based Brumbies (31 points, 8 games played) ahead of them.

Four changes have been made to the Crusaders run-on side, with Oli Jager returning from a thumb injury to start at tighthead prop, and Fletcher Newell moving to the reserves. Zach Gallagher gets his first start in DHL Super Rugby Pacific, as he joins Captain and locking partner, Scott Barrett, in the second row. Gallagher replaces Quinten Strange, who suffered a calf injury against the Hurricanes that will see him sidelined for several weeks.

In the backs, Bryn Hall will wear the nine jersey at halfback, with Mitchell Drummond set to provide impact from the bench. The final change sees Leicester Fainga’anuku start on the left wing, and George Bridge move to the reserves.

Kick off in the Crusaders match against the Blues is 7:05pm, Friday 15th April at Orangetheory Stadium in Christchurch. The match will be televised live on Sky Sport. 

A large home crowd is expected for this crucial round robin match, with tickets still available from Ticketek or from the box office on game day.

Crusaders team to play the Blues:

1.   Joe Moody
2.   Codie Taylor (VC)
3.   Oli Jager
4.   Scott Barrett (C)
5.   Zach Gallagher
6.   Ethan Blackadder
7.   Tom Christie
8.   Cullen Grace
9.   Bryn Hall
10. Richie Mo'unga
11. Leicester Fainga'anuku
12. David Havili (VC)
13. Braydon Ennor
14. Sevu Reece
15. Will Jordan

16. Ricky Jackson
17. George Bower
18. Fletcher Newell
19. Dominic Gardiner
20. Pablo Matera
21. Mitch Drummond
22. Fergus Burke
23. George Bridge