Skip to main content
arrow-left Back

Ethan Blackadder named 2022 Crusaders Player of the Year

Tireless Crusaders loose forward, Ethan Blackadder, has been named 2022 Player of the Year at the club's annual awards function. 

The awards were held at the Christchurch Town Hall tonight and attended by Crusaders players and their partners, as well as Crusaders staff, management and commercial partners.

Six awards were presented throughout the evening, with the Crusaders Rookie of the Year, Forward of the Year, Back of the Year and Player of the Year all decided by the Crusaders coaching group.

20-year-old Zach Gallagher was named Rookie of the Year after an impressive debut season in the second-row. Hardworking and versatile loose forward, Cullen Grace won Forward of the Year while Will Jordan, who currently leads the competition in carry metres and has eight tries to his name, was awarded Back of the Year.

As well as being named Player of the Year, 27-year-old Blackadder also won the Champion Crusader Award for a second consecutive year -  the only peer-voted accolade, recognising a player's selfless contribution to the team environment, both on and off the field.


Te Mārohirohi, a new award this year, is named to represent someone who has proven he has determination, tenacity, strength and bravery within our team. Assistant Coach Tamati Ellison presented the award to Pablo Matera, ackowledging the Argentinian international as being resolute in his commitment to bring his skill and experience into our environment, and to leave his mark on the club.

Crusaders 2022 award winners:


Rookie of the Year: Zach Gallagher
Presented by Crusaders lock, Sam Whitelock

Forward of the Year: Cullen Grace

Presented by Crusaders Forwards Coach, Jason Ryan

Back of the Year: Will Jordan

Presented by Crusaders Backs Coach, Andrew Goodman

Player of the Year: Ethan Blackadder
Presented by Crusaders Head Coach Scott Robertson

Te Mārohirohi: Pablo Matera
Presented by Crusaders Assistant Coach, Tamati Ellison

Champion Crusader of the Year: Ethan Blackadder

Presented by Crusaders Captain, Scott Barrett