The BNZ Crusaders are set to play their first home game in three rounds of Investec Super Rugby, and Head Coach Scott Robertson has named his side for Saturday evening's match against the Brumbies. 

180428 BrumbiesvCrusaders 037

All Blacks Joe Moody and Owen Franks both return from injury to bolster the front row, meaning Harry Allan and Michael Alaalatoa move to the reserves for this game. At lock, Quinten Strange and Sam Whitelock will swap this week, so that Strange takes the starting spot and Whitelock is on the bench. Matt Todd will Captain the side in the No. 7 jersey. The only other change in the forwards sees Ethan Blackadder earn his first Super Rugby start for 2019, at six. 

In the backs, Mitchell Drummond is the starting halfback this week and Bryn Hall provides cover on the bench, while Sevu Reece has earned promotion from the bench to start on the left wing against the Brumbies. Tim Bateman lines up at centre in what will be his 50th game for the BNZ Crusaders, while 19 year-old Leicester Faingaanuku is set to debut from the bench. 

Owen Franks will play his 150th Crusaders game this week (149th Investec Super Rugby game).

This Saturday’s match will be the BNZ Crusaders' first opportunity to unite the Christchurch community following the events of 15 March. There will be a moment’s silence before the teams run to field.
Pre-game, a local music group, The Healing Song, will perform a rendition of Dave Dobbyn’s ‘Welcome Home’, which will be followed by a musical performance at halftime by Christchurch’s Vocal Collective.

Kick off in the BNZ Crusaders' Investec Super Rugby match against the Brumbies is Saturday 6 April, 5:15pm (NZT), at Christchurch Stadium in Addington.

BNZ Crusaders team to play the Brumbies:

1. Joe Moody RESERVES
2. Codie Taylor 16. Ben Funnell
3. Owen Franks 17. Harry Allan
4. Scott Barrett 18. Michael Alaalatoa
5. Quinten Strange 19.  Sam Whitelock (VC)
6. Ethan Blackadder 20. Jordan Taufua
7. Matt Todd (C) 21. Bryn Hall
8. Kieran Read 22. Brett Cameron
9. Mitchell Drummond 23. Leicester Faingaanuku*
10. Richie Mo'unga  
11. Sevu Reece  
12. Ryan Crotty (VC)  
13. Tim Bateman  
14. Will Jordan  
15. David Havili  

* denotes Investec Super Rugby debut