Crusaders Head Coach Todd Blackadder has named his team to take on the Hurricanes at AMI Stadium on Friday night. There is just one change to the team that beat the Melbourne Rebels two weeks ago.

With Tim Perry nursing a hamstring strain, loosehead prop Daniel Lienert-Brown has been called into the squad to provide cover from the reserve bench.  Lienert-Brown has been in the Crusaders Knights development team and was called into the NZ U20s squad last year as injury cover.

Crusaders captain Kieran Read will lead the team out on Friday night for his 100th Crusaders game.  Debuting in 2007, Read has played his entire Super Rugby career with the Crusaders.  Despite the numerous provincial, national and international awards that Read has won, he says earning 100 caps for the Crusaders still counts as one of his proudest rugby moments.

“This is my team.  I have been playing for the Crusaders virtually since my professional rugby career began and I feel very proud to have represented this team for 100 games,” Read said.  “When you look at the other players who have achieved 100 games for the Crusaders, you realise what an honour it is.  Being selected for an award is one thing, but being selected for the Crusaders team 100 times is a real reflection of the hard work I’ve put in over the years and something I can feel truly proud of.”

Spectators at AMI Stadium on Friday night will be able to join in celebrating Read’s 100th Crusaders game with a presentation to take place following the game.  100 Adidas 'alive with pride' posters, featuring Kieran, will also be given out to celebrate the occasion. Each poster has been numbered and signed by the centurion.  Ticketholders can enter to win a poster by emailing their row and seat number along with their favourite Kieran moment to  One lucky winner will also receive a Crusaders jersey signed by the full squad.

Kick off at AMI Stadium is at 7:35pm on Friday night.

Crusaders team to play the Hurricanes:

1.        Wyatt Crockett

2.        Ben Funnell

3.        Owen Franks

4.        Luke Romano

5.        Samuel Whitelock

6.        Luke Whitelock

7.        Matt Todd

8.        Kieran Read (c)

9.        Andy Ellis

10.     Colin Slade

11.     Johnny McNicholl

12.     Tom Taylor

13.     Ryan Crotty (vc)

14.     Nafi Tuitavake

15.     Israel Dagg


16.     Codie Taylor

17.     Daniel Lienert-Brown

18.     Nepo Laulala

19.     Dominic Bird

20.     Jordan Taufua

21.     Mitchell Drummond

22.     Kieron Fonotia

23.     Nemani Nadolo