Crusaders team to play the Hurricanes

The Crusaders will host the Hurricanes in Nelson this Friday night, in their final home game of this season.  Head Coach Todd Blackadder has made seven changes to the starting line-up that faced the Waratahs last weekend and four further changes in the reserves.

Read more

Crusaders Lose to Waratahs

With just three matches remaining, qualifying for the Investec Super Rugby Finals Series will be a challenge for the Crusaders after the defending champion Waratahs won 33-22 in Sydney.  To view the match highlights click here.

Read more

Crusaders team to play the Waratahs

The Crusaders head to Sydney this evening to prepare for their clash with the Waratahs on Saturday night.  Head Coach Todd Blackadder has made five changes to the side that beat the Reds two weeks ago.

Read more

Crusaders to send team to inaugural Hemispheres Cup

The Crusaders Knights will play a one-off, historic match this August against the Saracens Club from England in New Orleans.  The game on 1 August at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome will be the inaugural Hemispheres Cup match, organised by RugbyLaw from the USA.
Crusaders CEO Hamish Riach said the Crusaders are thrilled to be sending a team to New Orleans to play Saracens.
“This is an exciting opportunity for us, firstly to play in an amazing international venue like the Mercedes Benz Superdome in New Orleans, and secondly to play a team like Saracens who we would never usually get the opportunity to play.  Saracens and the Crusaders are two teams from opposite ends of the globe, but with similarly proud histories.  It is not often that non-international teams from the southern and northern hemispheres have the chance to pit themselves against each other, and we are honoured to be involved in this inaugural hemispheres clash.  I have no doubt that this will be an incredible spectacle and a historic occasion," Mr Riach said.
Mark McCall, Director of Rugby of the Saracens, agreed that is would be a privilege to play in such a fantastic city and to give the people of New Orleans a chance to experience professional rugby.
“The City of New Orleans is famed for its welcome, vibrancy, history and culture and we are looking forward to being part of what will be a very special occasion. The Superdome is recognised all over the world and our players are already excited about playing at the home of the New Orleans Saints and in front of a City that loves its sport. The Crusaders are one of the most successful sides in world rugby and as we very rarely get the chance to face teams from the Southern Hemisphere.  We can’t wait to test ourselves in what will be a very hard-fought contest.”
The timing of the match, in between the Super Rugby and ITM Cup seasons, means that a Crusaders Knights team made up of those players assembled in Christchurch at that time will travel to New Orleans.
“This will be an amazing opportunity for some of our local players to be involved in such a unique event.  There is a real appetite for rugby in the US at the moment, so I am sure that the game will be well supported.  We are proud to be a part of this showcase event, especially playing a club as historically significant as Saracens,” Mr Riach said.

Matson remains committed to Crusaders

Crusaders Assistant Coach Tabai Matson has confirmed that he is committed to his current role at the Crusaders, despite reports linking him with the Blues.

Read more