Skip to main content
arrow-left Back

Dallas McLeod lined up for All Blacks Debut

GettyImages 1475750920 21

Eight 2023 Crusaders are set to take the field against Australia on Saturday afternoon for the last All Blacks home test before the squad heads overseas.


This includes Dallas McLeod who looks to make an impact off the bench in his debut for the national side.


Tamaiti Williams will get his first start in the black jersey, lining up in the front row alongside Samisoni Taukei’aho (Chiefs) and Nepo Laulala (Chiefs).


Sam Whitelock will make his first start of the year too, forming a now 64-cap locking combination with Brodie Retallick (Chiefs) – both called time on their Super Rugby careers this season.


Leicester Fainga’anuku returns from injury for this one, pulling on the 11 jersey, with debutant Shaun Stevenson (Chiefs) on the right wing. Fainga’anuku will head to French club Toulon after completing his national duties this year, but has hinted at a return to New Zealand shores in the future.


Will Jordan will be happy to find himself in the 15 jersey for this one, while Braydon Ennor occupies the midfield with Anton Lienert-Brown (Chiefs).


It’s pleasing to see Fletcher Newell on the bench at 18, having suffered an unfortunate series of injuries until now. Richie Mo’unga has been handed the 22 jersey for Saturday’s clash, with Damien McKenzie (Chiefs) earning the 10 jersey once again.


Dallas McLeod was a true bolter in Ian Foster’s June squad selection, and will get a run in Dunedin in the 23 jersey.


“Despite having won both the Rugby Championship and the Bledisloe Cup last week, this Test is special for us as we finish this stage of our preparation for later in the year,” said Ian Foster.


“It is our last chance to play in front of our fans and, even with some changes, it is a big opportunity for us to take another step forward as a team. We can’t wait.” 

GettyImages 1475750920 21

will jordan

Full All Blacks Side to face Australia on Saturday 5th August


1.     Tamaiti Williams (1)

2.     Samisoni Taukei’aho (23)

3.     Nepo Laulala (48)

4.     Brodie Retallick (102)

5.     Samuel Whitelock (144)

6.     Samipeni Finau *

7.     Sam Cane (88 – captain)

8.     Ardie Savea (73)

9.     Finlay Christie (16)

10.  Damian McKenzie (41)

11.  Leicester Fainga’anuku (2)

12.  Anton Lienert-Brown (61)

13.  Braydon Ennor (8)

14.  Shaun Stevenson *

15.  Will Jordan (23)

16.  Dane Coles (85)

17.  Ofa Tu’ungafasi (52)

18.  Fletcher Newell (6)

19.  Tupou Vaa’i (20)

20.  Luke Jacobson (13)

21.  Aaron Smith (117)

22.  Richie Mo’unga (47)

23.  Dallas McLeod *

will jordan