Skip to main content
arrow-left Back

Round 7 Team Lists

The Crusaders are preparing to welcome fans back to Orangetheory Stadium this Friday night, when they host the Highlanders in Round 7 of DHL Super Rugby Pacific. 


It's an all-new front row this week, with Joe Moody, Codie Taylor and Fletcher Newell all returning to the starting side. The forward pack is otherwise unchanged, with Quinten Strange partnering Captain Scott Barrett at lock, and Cullen Grace retaining the Number 8 jersey, while Pablo Matera has been named in the reserves.


In the backs, Mitch Drummond returns to the starting side to face the Highlanders, as does Sevu Reece - who last week overtook Dan Carter to become the third top try scorer of all time for the Crusaders.

20-year-old Canterbury lock, Zach Gallagher, is in line to become Crusader #263 this week, having been named in the reserves.


"We're really excited for Zach - he's a tough, relentless player with a massive engine, so we're looking forward to seeing what he can do. He's a local lad too, who came up through the grades here in Christchurch, so it's a big occasion for him to have the opportunity to debut in front of his friends and family" Crusaders Head Coach, Scott Robertson, said. 


Kick off against the Highlanders is 7:05pm, Friday 1st April at Orangetheory Stadium in Christchurch. Tickets are available via TICKETEK. 

Crusaders team:

1.   Joe Moody
2.   Codie Taylor (VC)
3.   Fletcher Newell
4.   Scott Barrett (C)
5.   Quinten Strange
6.   Ethan Blackadder
7.   Tom Christie
8.   Cullen Grace
9.   Mitch Drummond
10. Richie Mo'unga
11. George Bridge
12. David Havili (VC)
13. Leicester Fainga'anuku
14. Sevu Reece
15. Will Jordan

16. Shilo Klein
17. George Bower
18. Tamaiti Williams
19. Zach Gallagher*
20. Pablo Matera
21. Bryn Hall
22. Fergus Burke
23. Braydon Ennor

*denotes Crusaders debut

Highlanders team:

1. Daniel Lienert-Brown

2. Andrew Makalio

3. Josh Hohneck

4. Bryn Evans

5. Josh Dickson

6. Shannon Frizell

7. James Lentjes

8. Marino Mikaele-Tu’u

9. Aaron Smith (C)

10. Mitch Hunt

11. Mosese Dawai

12. Scott Gregory

13. Fetuli Paea

14. Sam Gilbert

15. Connor Garden Bachop



16. Rhys Marshall

17. Ethan de Groot

18. Jermaine Ainsley

19. Manaaki Selby – Rickit

20. Gareth Evans **

21. Folau Fakatava

22. Marty Banks ***

23. Denny Solomona *



**50th Highlander’s Cap

*** 50th Super Rugby Cap