Skip to main content
arrow-left Back

Crusaders Well Represented in New Zealand Rugby Award Nominations

A swathe of Crusaders have been recognised with nominations in this year’s rugby awards, with nominations announced earlier today.


This year’s awards will be presented live on Sky Sport 1 and Prime at 8.30PM on Thursday 8 December, with awards presented to leading teams, players, coaches, administrators, and referees


After another bumper international season, the All Blacks Player of the Year Awards includes four strong nominees, with fullback Jordie Barrett nominated alongside Crusaders lock Sam Whitelock, hooker Samisoni Taukei'aho and loose forward Ardie Savea.


DHL Super Rugby Pacific Player of the Year includes a second nomination for Savea, alongside Blues first-five-eighth Stephen Perofeta and Crusaders fullback Will Jordan.


Our 13-time-champions have also been nominated for Adidas National Men’s Team of the Year, alongside Wellington’s NPC team, Bunnings Warehouse Heartland Championship Meads Cup winner South Canterbury and Lochore Cup winner Ngāti Porou East Coast.


Sky Super Rugby Aupiki champions Chiefs Manawa have been nominated for the adidas National Women’s Team of the Year alongside Bunnings Warehouse Farah Palmer Cup winners Canterbury and Hawke’s Bay.


The National Women’s Coach of the Year nominees include Matatū Head Coach Blair Baxter for his recent triumph with Canterbury’s FPC side, Allan Bunting (Chiefs Manawa) and Blair Cross (Hawke’s Bay).


Our man Scott Razor Robertson has been nominated for National Men’s Coach of the Year, alongside Nigel Walsh (South Canterbury), and Leo Crowley (Wellington).


Newly contracted Crusader George Bell has been nominated for the New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year alongside Peter Lakai (Wellington) and Hamilton Boys High School player Payton Spencer (Auckland).


The hotly contested Sky Television Fans Try of the Year is open for public vote. Click here to place your vote, which closes at 8pm Wednesday 30 November.


Four additional awards will be announced on the night – the Steinlager Salver, the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year, adidas New Zealand Team of the Year and the New Zealand Coach of the Year.


The 2022 Rugby Awards will be broadcast live on Sky Sport and Prime TV on 8 December at 8.30PM:


The full list of nominees are:                                                             


New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year:

Maggie Cogger-Orr (Auckland)

Brendon Pickerill (North Harbour)

Ben O'Keeffe (Auckland)


Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year:

Cathy Charles (Otago)

Andrew Gemmell (Thames Valley)

Allen Grainger (Waikato)


New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year:

George Bell (Canterbury)

Peter Lakai (Wellington)

Payton Spencer (Auckland)


Ian Kirkpatrick Medal:

Siu Kakala (South Canterbury)

Sam Parkes (Ngāti Porou East Coast)

Semi Vodosese (Whanganui)


Duane Monkley Medal:

Bryn Gatland (North Harbour)

Emoni Narawa (Bay of Plenty)

Peter Lakai (Wellington)


Fiao'o Faamausili Medal:

Luka Connor (Bay of Plenty)

Maia Joseph (Otago)

Charmaine Smith (Northland)  


National Men's Coach of the Year

Leo Crowley (Wellington)

Scott Robertson (Crusaders)

Nigel Walsh (South Canterbury)


National Women's Coach of the Year:

Blair Baxter (Canterbury)

Allan Bunting (Chiefs Manawa)

Blair Cross (Hawke’s Bay)                                                                    


DHL Super Rugby Pacific Player of the Year:

Will Jordan (Crusaders)

Stephen Perofeta (Blues)

Ardie Savea (Hurricanes)


Sky Super Rugby Aupiki Player of the Year:

Luka Connor (Chiefs Manawa)

Liana Mikaele-Tu'u (Blues)

Joanah Ngan-Woo (Hurricanes)


Tom French Memorial Māori Player of the Year :

Ruahei Demant (Tē Whānau ā Apanui / Te Whakatōhea / Ngāti Awa)

Stacey Fluhler (Ngāi Tūhoe)

TJ Perenara (Ngāti Rangitihi / Te Arawa)   


Richard Crawshaw Memorial All Blacks Sevens Player of the Year:

Ngarohi McGarvey-Black

Sam Dickson

Caleb Tangitau


Black Ferns Sevens Player of the Year:

Michaela Blyde

Sarah Hirini

Risaleaana (Risi) Pouri-Lane


Black Ferns Player of the Year:

Ruahei Demant

Theresa Fitzpatrick

Stacey Fluhler

Sarah Hirini


All Blacks Player of the Year:

Jordie Barrett

Ardie Savea

Samisoni Taukei’aho

Sam Whitelock


adidas National Men's Team of the Year


Ngāti Porou East Coast

South Canterbury



adidas National Women's Team of the Year:


Chiefs Manawa

Hawke's Bay