Skip to main content
arrow-left Back

2023 Crusaders Development Squad Named

Selected from across the Crusaders region, 29 players have been selected to represent the 2023 Crusaders Development XV Squad. As a franchise we put enormous effort into nurturing pathways for young players to find a way into professional rugby, and this squad is a fantastic platform for the growth of the game.


The team will take on the Highlanders Bravehearts and the Hurricanes Hunters in a three-weekend competiton to give the country’s most promising talent a chance to test their skills and represent their region.


- 25 February vs Highlanders Bravehearts, Pleasant Point Rugby Club

- 3 March vs Hurricanes Hunters, Rugby League Park, Wellington

- 11 March vs Highlanders Bravehearts, Pleasant Point Rugby Club


Marty Burke, Crusaders Development Squad Head Coach, said the squad represented the breadth and depth of talent that existed in the region.


“This side is a great representation of the sporting talent we have across our region, and it’s just awesome to give these guys the opportunity to represent their home and showcase their ability,” Burke said.


Team to play Highlanders Bravehearts, Saturday 25 February at Pleasant Point Rugby Club.

Kick off 12.30pm


Position, Name

15 Chay Fihaki

14 Wil Gualter

13 Jone Rova

12 Alex Harford (C)

11 Melani Nani

10 Taha Kemara

9 Noah Hotham

8 Sione Havili Talitui

7 Corey Kellow

6 Dominic Gardiner

5 Tumama Tu’ulua

4 Jamie Hannah

3 Seb Calder

2 James Mullan

1 Jack Sexton



16 Nick Hyde

17 Tom Heywood

18 Kershawl Sykes-Martin

19 Caleb Aprehama

20 Fletcher Anderson

21 Louie Chapman

22 Kynan Stowers-Smith

23 Blair Murray

24 Joe Brial


Full 2023 Crusaders Development XV squad:

PLAYER, Club, Province

1. Adam Williamson, Southern, Mid Canterbury

2. Alex Harford, High School Old Boys, Canterbury

3. Blair Murray, University of Canterbury, Canterbury

4. Braden Stewart, Central, Tasman

5. Brian Lealiifano, Lincoln University, Canterbury

6. Caleb Aprehama, Sydenham, Canterbury

7. Conor Anderson, Celtic South, Canterbury

8. Fletcher Anderson, University of Canterbury, Tasman

9. George Methvern, Marist Albion, Buller

10. Graham Urquhart, Wanderers, Tasman

11. Nick Hyde, Glenmark-Cheviot, Canterbury

12. Jack Gray, Wanderers, Tasman

13. Jack Sexton, Lincoln University, Canterbury

14. James Mullan, Sydenham, Canterbury

15. Jamie Hannah, Lincoln University, Canterbury

16. Joe Brial, Lincoln University, Canterbury

17. Joel Lam, Burnside, Canterbury

18. Jone Rova, Lincoln University, Canterbury

19. Kershawl Sykes-Martin, Nelson, Tasman

20. Kynan Stowers Smith, Shirley, Canterbury

21. Louie Chapman, Kahurangi, Tasman

22. Matt Graham-Williams, Stoke, Tasman

23. Monu Moli, Wanderers, Tasman

24. Quentin MacDonald, Central, Tasman

25. Taine Robinson, Stoke, Tasman

26. Tom Heywood, University, Canterbury

27. Tumama Tu'ulua, Sydenham, Canterbury

28. Wil Gualter, Christchurch, Tasman

29. Zach McKay, Christchurch, South Canterbury



Marty Bourke Head Coach

Gray Cornelius Assistant Coach

Nigel Walsh Assistant Coach

Tim Bateman Assistant Coach

Shaun Curry Strength & Conditioning Coach

Stu Hunter Team Manager

Tim Ryley Logistics Manager

Neil Tucker Physiotherapist

Richie Marsden Physiotherapist

Nic Redwood Analyst

Kathrine Grellman Team Doctor