Skip to main content
arrow-left Back

Junior Crusaders Named

51 of the region’s top high school rugby prospects have been named in the Junior Crusaders Squad.


The Junior Crusaders are selected from the wider Crusaders region – from Timaru to Tasman.


These players have been identified by selection team and will be given the opportunity to grow their game at an upcoming Junior Crusaders camp in October.


Guy Lemon, Head of Talent ID at Crusaders, explained the selection process, saying,


“There’s a group of spotters who go to First XV games each week and observe players. We convene regularly to talk about players, positions, and rankings and from there, we select a group of players for the squad.”


Selection criteria covers several bases, as Lemon explained,


“We look for a number of attributes depending on the position played. Often rugby talent is the first thing we notice, but we look for other qualities as well. Strong work ethic, leadership on the field - these are attributes we value."


Recent first team players who have benefitted from their time as Junior Crusaders include Zach Gallagher, Dom Gardiner, and Fletcher Newell, just to name a few.


Lemon and the Academy team are looking forward to working with these players as the season approaches,


“They’re good quality people and good quality players as well and we’re really excited to hopefully try develop their game.”


A full list of players can be found below.


Richie Tuipelehake Tupua'ilei - St Thomas of Canterbury

Suliasi Faiva - St Bede's College

Zach Parkin - Timaru Boys High School

Manumaua - Letiu - Christchurch Boys High School

Bryn - Graham - Shirley Boys High School

Lachlan - Harris-Tatana - St Thomas of Canterbury

Shaun Kempton - Selwyn Combined

Riley Brewis - Christchurch Boys High School

Sione Mafi - Nelson College

Iveni Nasio - Shirley Boys High School

Lehopoame Leota - Christ's College

Hennie Fa'avae - Nelson College

Jayden Sa - Christ's College

Finn McLeod - Christchurch Boys High School

Liam Jack - Christ's College

Norman Palu - St Thomas of Canterbury

Andre Sula - St Bede's College

Jackson Ross - Timaru Boys High School

Christian Ioane - St Bede's College

Max Ansell - Christchurch Boys High School

Cameron Blackwood - St Andrew's College

Jack Coulthard - St Thomas of Canterbury

George Gunn - St Bede's College

Cale Tairua - Timaru Boys High School

James Moore - Christchurch Boys High School

Matt Lowe - Nelson College

Tanner Stowers-Smith - St Bede's College

Harry Nossiter - Christchurch Boys High School

Tylah Blake - Nelson College

Ben O'Donovan - St Bede's College

Ned Milne - Timaru Boys High School

Ollie Burra - Christchurch Boys High School

Hugh Robinson - Malborough Boys College

Jordan Soli - Shirley Boys High School

Callum Summerfield - Christ's College

Oliver Lawry - St Thomas of Canterbury

Harrison Inch - Nelson College

Cam Rawlings - St Bede's College

Maretino Kaloudau - St Thomas of Canterbury

Nelesoni Malaulau - Nelson College

Kurtis MacDonald - Christchurch Boys High School

Jamayne Feast - St Bede's College

Timoci Sauira - Nelson College

Riley Lucas - St Bede's College

Tevita Faitotonu - St Thomas of Canterbury

Jack Busch-Ward - Christchurch Boys High School

Dakota Kakoi - Shirley Boys High School

Alizjah Campbell - Selwyn Combined

Cooper Roberts - Malborough Boys College

Thomas Ruwhiu - St Andrew's College

Luca Tracey - Christchurch Boys High School